Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone

Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone (TIRZ) is a way for Harris County to reinvest added revenue from new development into the area it originated. The purpose of TIRZ is to attract new investment and encourage new development in an area that would otherwise lag behind in economic growth and/or experience depressed economic activity.

Currently Harris County participates in several TIRZs created and maintained by municipalities.

Further information about the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone can be found in the Texas Property Tax Code, Chapter 311.

List of TIRZs in Harris County

  • TIRZ 1 Baytown, City of Baytown
  • TIRZ 1 La Porte, City La Porte
  • TIRZ 2 Midtown, City of Houston
  • TIRZ 3 Main Street/Market Square, City of Houston
  • TIRZ 9 South Post Oak, City of Houston
  • TIRZ 11 Greenspoint, City of Houston
  • TIRZ 15 East Downtown, City of Houston
  • TIRZ 24 Greater Houston, City of Houston

Useful Links:

  • For information about TIRZ 1 Baytown click here.
  • For information about TIRZ 1 La Porte click here.
  • For information about City of Houston TIRZs click here.